A quick trip to London!

Hellooo!

Last week my parents and my sister came to stay for a week and since my sister and my dad had never been to London we decided to spend our Monday wandering around London.

We woke up at 5:45 (and yes it was awful) to take the 7h10 train. Of course, since nothing ever happens smoothly with me, as soon as we arrived at the train station, I saw on the screen that our train had been cancelled… bummer as the Brits would say. We heard then that because of signal problems, trains were being delayed or cancelled in our station and bacause of that, you could take any train with your ticket (same destination, though).

We ended up taking the 7 o’clock (always be early folks) which journey was actually an hour shorter! Woop woop! (even though it left 25 mins late…). We then arrived and took the bus to Soho to go the caffé where we went in November with my boyfriend and his friends, Toi+Moi, and don’t get fooled by the name, it didn’t serve French breakfast.

We were really lucky because as it was Monday it was pretty much empty and we could have the big wooden table downstairs and were alone. This place is so pretty and the food is delicious.

201918

After breakfast we wandered on Oxford Street for a bit and did a tiny bit of shopping (oopsie).

We then took the bus to go to the Science Museum and you will never guess what happened… So we took the bus and my sister, my boyfriend and I were on the second deck towards the back, just looking at the view when I looked on my right in the street because I had noticed someone, standing alone and well-dressed, when I looked closely my heart just skipped a bit and I asked my sister and boyfriend in a hurry “Am I dreaming or is it Estelle??”.                                                                                                                                                        Estelle is my best friend of now 6 years. Obviously she is French and though we come from the South-East of France , she has been doing an internship in Paris for the last four months and I hadn’t seen her in a year. I know – mad. They quickly confirmed that, yes it was Estelle and so I pretty much shouted at my parents what we just saw.

We quickly pressed the ‘stop’ button and rushed towards the entry of the bus. Just picture the scene: five French people running in the bus with me on my phone trying to call Estelle on Messenger since my phone has an English subscription, leaving her messages and texts while people were staring at us, not understanding what was going on and probably thinking we were crazy. We then jumped off the bus – at a stop of course- and I started running towards where I had seen her. And well, it was her! You should have seen the look on her face as she saw me (I kind of approach her with a “bonjour, mademoiselle” i.e. “good morning, miss”), her face went from “what??” to “omg” to “is this real life”? which was pretty funny. The rest of the fam joined us after and we just talked for a bit.

That was pretty awesome. We then had to leave and we waved goodbye for like 5 solid minutes as we walked away. We then decided to just walk along Hyde Park to get to the Museum while talking about how it’s a small world. The funny thing is that, I knew that she had been in London over the weekend, and since it was Monday, I thought that she had returned to Paris for work. And while that same morning I told my boyfriend “imagine if we bump into her?” she had texted me after seeing one of my snaps(on my French number) if we wanted to meet. Crazy, crazy, crazy…

We then went to the Science Museum walking through Knightsbridge and enjoying the sun (though it did not last).

17

23

I have to admit we were all disappointed by the Science Museum. I had went when when I was in middle school but I guess we had a group pass or something, or just more interesting activities. Anyway, after an hour and a half or so, we left and realized it was raining. Thanks British weather! As my sister wanted to see Big Ben, we took the Tube to Westminster Station and just stayed there for a while, hoping the rain would stop. It didn’t. So we took the bus to Covent Garden and wandered around before stopping at a Caffé Nero to have a coffee and rest for a bit.

Snapchat-8375192711660268724

As it was around 5:30pm by then, we decided to take the bus back to the train station, in case traffic was bad since our train was at 7:20pm. We then collapsed on the station’s floor, absolutely exhausted -drained, worn out, whacked, whatever you want to call it.

All in all, it was a great trip. We didn’t have time to see everything we would have and the rain was not ideal for visiting, but we spent the day just the way we had wanted to -minus ending up wet.

I’ll insert some other photos I have and some I took during the birthday weekend trip my boyfriend and I spend in London back in November – it rained the entire Saturday, shocker.

15413

17

 

 

14

I hope you enjoyed,

Thanks for stopping by!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

xoxo Gaby

 

 

Leave a Reply

