Skincare Review: Bio Oil

Hello beautiful!

I have been trying the Bio Oil for a month now and thought I would give you my thoughts in it.

So a bit of background story for this one. In 2013 I had an issue with a medication so I needed to change it, but problem: the new one gave me a real breakout situation. I didn’t suffer from acne or a ton of breakouts as a teenager. But this totally changed my skin. I got breakouts on a daily basis and the problem was that the scars didn’t fade quickly. By the time one would fade I would have had another pimple. It got to the point where I felt really self-conscious without wearing foundation in public or with friends.

About a year and a half ago I started using the A-derma Purifying Foaming gel which was a massive help for cleaning my skin and I noticed quickly that I had way less breakouts. I still use it twice a day and my skin has pretty much cleared up totally breakout-wise.

However, I still have the scars. I also use the A-derma Severe blemish care which helps to prevent breakouts and to make blemishes disappear more quickly. When I can feel that I am getting a pimple I put some one it and it is pretty much gone the next day. But for scars it does not do much.

For a few months now I had been trying to find a product to try for my breakouts but I didn’t want something too expensive as I was not sure it would work and I have a -very- sensitive skin so if my skin would react badly it would have been a waste of money. After some research I came across the Bio Oil but wasn’t sure where I could get my hands on it. I saw that Primark and Boots sold them but it was the medium bottle. I finally bought my from Home Bargains for 4,99£ instead of 8,99£ at Superdrug.

Bio Oil is a mix of different natural oils to help with scars, stretch marks, uneven skin tone, ageing skin and dehydrated skin. It can be used on the face and body, is said to be: non-greasy, rapidly absorbed, hypoallergenic and suitable for sensitive skin.

bottle packaging front packaging back

I am currently using it for my face for the scaring and uneven skin tone as well as stretch marks on the side of my thighs.

It works perfectly on my sensitive skin but I find the smell of all of the oils mixed together quite strong so I usually put a bit of my Garnier rose-scented moisturizer on top of it. It might be because I put too much but though it gets absorbed really quickly, it remains a bit greasy and I find my skin to be quite oily from around mid-afternoon. I have to say that it has made the texture of my skin way better that it ever was. It helps with dehydrated skin and I guess my skin was a bit dehydrated before, cause now it is so bouncy and the elasiticity has improved so much.

You have to apply it twice daily for a minimum of 3 months but I have used it for a month now and I can already see results so I thought I would share my thoughts.

My right cheeks had the most scars as I usually breakout on my right cheek since I sleep on it. After now a month I can already see some improvement, the scars seem to fade and my skin looks more even -and more glowing.

Before

before right cheekright side before left cheekleft side

After

after right cheek 2right side after left side 3left side

(My face looks a bit more pink on the after photos because I was a bit hot, but hey I won’t complain about that 😉 ).

You can still see some scars that were on the before picture for the right side (like the one on the right of my beauty spot on the botton of my cheek) but they have started to fade and some have even disappeared. I have also noticed that since I started using it, I pretty much didn’t get any pimple at all. Even during that time of the month. It has only been a month so hopefully it will continue to improve! I will keep you updated on that. For the stretch marks I haven’t taken before pictures and only use it once a day when I shower but after 3 months I will see if they are less noticable and will let you know.

Overall, I am quite happy with the Bio Oil. I like that it has natural oils and helps to hydrate the skin at the same time. I can see some results and feel less conscious when I am not wearing makeup. It is not an expensive product and it comes it different sizes so give it a try if you want to improve your skin, stretch marks, scars, dehydrated or ageing skin! I cannot say if it works for the ageing but since it has made my skin so boucy and elastic I would say it would be a good product for mature skin.

As always, I hope you enjoyed and hope you have an amazing Sunday!

xo Gaby

 

 

Leave a Reply

