The Bookshelf review – The Ice Twins, Big Little Lies, We Were Liars

Hello beautiful,

I am not ashamed to say that I am a total bookworm. The sight of a bookstore, the smell of a book or a large Amazon order make me so happy.

As a student, I don’t have much time to read but always read for a while at night before going to bed. Always.

During the December-January period, I read these three books and the whirlwind of the spring trimester took a toll and I forgot to write their reviews. But here they come.

1

The first one I read was The Ice Twins during the winter break. I remember this book as a great memory from these holidays as they were the only ones during which I was able to truly relax. I remember reading everyday from 4 or 5p.m. on the couch curled up in a blanket with our dog Happy sleeping on me (or my sister, or my mom depending on who seemed more comfortable at the minute) while my little sister and my mom were chilling on the couch and my dad was doing some construction in the garage. I had received the book in a package of books as an early Christmas gift (I had chosen the books btw) and was immediately drawn to this one. It might have been the back cover summary or the darkness and mystery but I decided to read this one first.

The book follows the lives of Angus and Sarah a year after one of their twin daughters accidently dies, the turmoil and identity crisis their daughter is left with and their move to a tiny Scottish island.

This story is a page-turner. You are told the story from the point of view of both parents and there are so many twists and turns that I always had a hard time putting it down. Thankfully, as it was a dark story I decided to read another book at night because I would have had either an all-nighter or little sleep.

After that, for a few months I read as an ‘extra’ read “We were Liars”. I read this one because Zoe (“Zoella”) recommended it in one of the “Zoella bookclub videos and decided to give it a try. The story is about Cadence “Cady” Sinclair who comes from the wealthy Sinclair family, spending all her summers on their private island along with her aunts, grandparents and cousins. Until one summer changes it all and herself. The story is written from the point of view of Cady. I have to admit that it took me a while to really get into it. The writing was a bit fragmented for me and therefore hard to follow (in my opinion). However, I would say from half of the book until the end, I was really drawn into it and wanted to know what happened. And boy, I didn’t imagine that at all. Overall, I am bit on the fence about this book. On one side, it took me a long time to really get attached to the story, it felt more like a chore because I started rather than me really wanting to read it. But on the other side, once the pieces were starting to be put together, the end was quite good and unpredictable.

After that, I read Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. I already had two (or three?) of her books and now own I believe pretty much her entire book list. I love this author and I loved this book. It has since been released as a TV Show starring, to only name a few, Reese Witherspoon (who also produced it), Shailene Woodley, Nicole Kidman, and Laura Dern. If you haven’t seen the TV show nor read the book, it is about three women and mothers, with totally different lives in the small city of … in Australia and the drama caused by the start of the school year of their children and the drama and lies that are told.

This book was so good. I loved the writing, totally fell in love with the characters and could.not.put.it.down.  I thought that the movie adaptation was really good and didn’t miss out on that many details. The story felt so real and down to earth, dealing with problems women and mothers actually deal with. Each character was so different from the next but yet so close in their issues. So good.

Which book have you read recently that you really enjoyed?

Hope you enjoyed,

xx Gaby

My social media: 

Instagram  twitter snapchat: gabysmile16 bloglovin

Leave a Reply

