The 5 Skincare Products I took with Me on my Surprise Weekend Trip

Hello everyone!

I don’t know about you but I am pretty boring with my skincare routine. Once I’ve found something that works, I’ll keep using it because I just currently don’t have the budget to experiment. But for my surprise weekend getaway, I literally had 5 minutes to prepare a bag and get out the door, so I didn’t have time to prepare what skincare (or makeup) I wanted to bring with me and some of them are quite bulky so I couldn’t bring them. I immediately threw in my deodorant which is the Dove Invisible dry one, it smells good, does the job I guess (though I really want to try an organic one) so there was no problem with that. I always always use the A-derma purifying foam cleanser as well and we have a sample size to carry around for holidays and night aways so it was perfect to have it on hand.

The real trouble started with moisturizer. I have only been using Coconut Oil since October for moisturizing my face in the morning and at night and I couldn’t go back. I have highly sensitive skin and this is the dream, it feels incredible on the skin, plumps, hydrates so well the skin and smells amazing. It also has a tiny bit of natural SPF in it, it’s a natural product and a jar lasts for about 6 months. But, it was too large to carry around and I didn’t have a small container to put some in, so I just grab what was around which is my sister’s Nivea moisturizer for normal to combinaison skin. It did the job but really didn’t compare to coconut oil. It dried too fast on my skin (I guess it felt like that mostly because I am used to rubbing the oil on my face and massaging it for a while), smelt ok but really wasn’t enough for me.

After that I grabbed quickly my Bio oil for my scars and then realized all of a sudden that I needed a makeup remover. My usual Garnier micellar water one is  400ml so it was a no-no so I again grabbed the smallest bottle available (my sister’s again) which was the Yves Rocher Végétale Sensitive micellar water 2 in 1. I hadn’t propertly tried it yet so I thought it would be the perfect opportunity. I used it to remove my makeup on Saturday night and I started to feel a burning sensation around my eyes. I have highly sensitive skin and this sometimes happen but I wasn’t expecting that as the product was targeted towards sensitive skin and Yves Rocher product contain up to 98% of natural products. But indeed, my entire face was burning by the time I had propertly finished taking off my makeup and my face was all red. So attractive for a romantic weekend getaway. I quickly jumped in the shower, poured warm water on my face and after a few minutes, cleansed my face with the A-derma product. It reduced the burning sensation and the redness a bit but even after applying the moisturizer (by then I was really missing my coconut oil) my face was feeling tight, dry and hot. It wasn’t obvious because my boyfriend didn’t notice a thing (or he is used to my face reacting to products from time to time). I need to mention that my sister, who also have sensitive skin, doesn’t have any problem with it. She uses it daily and was shocked when I told her the bad reaction it caused. It might have been a problem with my skin beforehand but I am not taking the risk to try again…

This surprise weekend forced me to try new products which is always great, though I really wished then to have brought my coconut oil, but that’s okay 😊

Which skincare products can you not live and travel without?

Hoped you enjoyed!

xx Gaby

Follow me on social media! 

Instagram  twitter snapchat: gabysmile16 bloglovin

2 thoughts on “The 5 Skincare Products I took with Me on my Surprise Weekend Trip

  1. These all look like really good products to use if I you are travelling! When ever I go away I always have to have a nice lip balm with me and my oil-free moisturiser from Neutrogena 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

