My Hair Care Routine — Style & Wash

Hello everyone!

I straightened my hair this morning and realized that my hair was feeling really soft, healthy and had grown quite a bit. I am lucky enough to have good quality hair and they grow quite quickly (as my nails) but I do take good care of them. I have fine hair and not a mane like my sister (unfortunately, but I’m quite happy about it in the summer!) and I’ve never dyed my hair, except the – awful- three blond streaks when I was about 8 (yikes). I don’t have an extended hair routine but I do know which hair product work for me so I thought I would share them with you.

l'Oréal hair spray Batiste Dry Shampoo

I have, as is my skin, oily hair. I wash it every Sunday, Tuesday and Friday but usually have to use a dry shampoo on the second day, especially if it’s hot; I’ve been hot or did a sweaty workout the night before. I use the Batiste Dry Shampoo either the night before so that it can work into the hair during the night, or as a quick fix in the morning before brushing it out in the next 5-10 minutes.

If I do style my (freshly washed) hair or don’t want it to get frizzy, I will put some hairspray on. I absolutely love the Pantene Extra strong Hold Pro-V in strength 4 or 5. It’s a bit scary at first because it makes the hair looks crunchy and not natural, but actually after a few minutes it penetrates into the hair and it feels super soft and holds  the style for a really long time. I was using it while studying in Birmingham and though it would rain or be a bit humid or even windy, my hair would hold the curls really well, even the next day. I ran out of it at the end of 2016/ beginning of 2017 (the bottle lasts for quite some time!) and couldn’t find it so I bought the l’Oréal Satin hairspray one but thought it does prevent friziness and smells really nice, I don’t find that it holds curls well, they drop after about an hour so I will use it up and hunt down a Pantene one after.

I have, as is my skin, oily hair. I wash it every Sunday, Tuesday and Friday.

Coconut Oil

The night of the wash, I try at least once a week to put coconut oil on the bottom of my hair, not really the tips but more from below the neck down to the ends. I let it sit for 10 minutes to an hour and make sure to wash my hair twice with the shampoo – once only the part where I put the coconut oil, and a second time everywhere.

Head & Shoulders

Yves Rocher Monoï shampoo

I switch up which shampoo I use but will always reach for the Head & Shoulders shampoo at least once a week. It gives my hair volume and make it super sleek. The other shampoo will usually be whatever I have on hand like the Yves Rocher Monoï Shampoo which I absolutely love because it cleans the hair but doesn’t dry it out or wears it down.

Garnier conditionerLe Petit Marseillais Hair Mask

If I haven’t put coconut oil and I feel like my hair needs a little something something extra, I will use either the Garnier Full & Plush to had more texture and volume or the Le Petit Marseillais Repare and Protect mask on the ends of my hair to nourish it. Honestly, all of the Le Petit Marseillais masks are amazing and smell incredible so I usually use one up and then use a different one. I leave it on for about 3 to 5 minutes (while washing my body and face) and rinse it off with warm or coldish water (depending on how brave I am that day). I then towel dry it a bit, but the towel over my head and do my body skincare and my face skincare, then I towel off the water excess and will either let my hair dry (I always do that on Friday night) or will blow dry only for the roots to get some volume.

 

That is usually what I will use on my hair on a weekly basis, I really want to try Bumble and Bumble and also the Ouai Texturizing spray (really badly!) but other than these, what are your Holy Grail hair products that I could try?

 

Hope you enjoyed & Happy Sunday!

Xx Gaby

Follow me on social media! 

Instagram  twitter snapchat: gabysmile16 bloglovin 

2 thoughts on “My Hair Care Routine — Style & Wash

  1. My hair’s the opposite! Unruly, and combination. I did used to do a hot coconut oil massage every week, and that really helped, although I often forget nowadays. I apply a lot of oil though after I’ve washed it, and when it’s like 50% damp xx

    Velvet Blush

    Like

    1. I sometimes wish I had combinaison, it’s so annoying to have to apply dry shampoo the second day, it never looks fresh more than for a day 🙄. I do forget to use coconut oil sometimes 😬 but when I do I can tell the difference xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

