Keeping Up with Gaby … LOLZ

Hey everyone!

I know I have done a Life Update not too long ago, but things change quite quickly at the moment and I have been reminiscing quite a lot lately. You know that feeling when you feel like life is slipping through your fingers (and now I have ABBA’s song stuck in my head…)? It’s not that I don’t feel in control of it – it’s more of the contrary, I have control issues 😀 – but I cannot seem to realize that 4 months have gone by since I finished my first year of Master’s degree. Like, what??? Where have those months gone? How is it that I cannot seem to ever know the date and still believe that we are in May?

IMG_5066

For the past 4 months, I have been doing an internship in a quite large company and, well needless to say that if these months have gone by so quickly, I have quite enjoyed this work experience.

I have been so lucky to work with incredibly nice, smart, funny and loving people. They were really human, you know what I mean?. It wasn’t all about work and budget and deadlines, it was about doing the best job possible, creating good quality products, helping each other out, knowing when to be serious and efficient and when to cut some slack and have a good laugh.

I have not felt like ‘just the intern’ at any moment, and that’s something. Though my degree is somewhat high, some people just believe that a 22 year-old doesn’t have neither the life experience nor the work experience required to give them attention and interest. Well, the people I worked with were the opposite.

Looking back on theses 4 months, I realize how lucky I have been to be able to learn, get experience and work for, such an amazing team. Life experiences and work experiences are so important as they shape you in different ways. I have been challenged, but not put over the edge I have been trusted, I have been considered as a bonus part of the team and I have been (very well) taken care of. I am not saying that the work I’ve done has been incredibly important, but I believe that everyone can play a part and they’ve allowed me to learn through that. So I just want to send them a huge thank you, you will not be forgotten.

IMG_5235

In the last 4 months, I have had some highs and lows. First with being accepted in the two second year of Master’s degree I had applied to. I was so down, had such low self-esteem and had to put everything back into a huge question mark. For months, I would toss and turn in bed, be crippled with anxiety during the day because I couldn’t visualize where I would be next school year. I am a big visualizer, if I can visualize it, then it’s meant to happen. And any of the programs I had found, I couldn’t visualize myself doing it, and being in the city where it was taught. The, I found the one I have been accepted to. Right upon reading the descriptions I could feel that was it. I could see myself in the city, going to Uni and learning amongst international students. It was perfect for me. The day I got accepted, I just felt a huge wave a relief. I can do it. Everything happens for a reason. And when the week after, my boyfriend told me he was accepted in the same city. I felt like I could cry a river of tears of relief.

IMG_6127

Last weekend, we went to the city to visit apartments, I really loved the first one we visited, it was smaller but it felt so cozy, and when I started to visualize us there, I got scared. What if we don’t get it? What if it’s not meant for us? Shouldn’t we visit others? And then, when I started to describe to my mom when my family was abroad, I realized: it was perfect. No need to be scared to have made the wrong choice (I don’t like making decisions), if it’s meant to be, it will be. And guess what… we got the apartment!!! I am over the moon and already thinking about how I am going to decorate it. We won’t be moving in until the end of August, when my boyfriend finishes his internship, but just knowing that a home for us is waiting is amazing.

I feel like a chapter is about to close and another one about to begin (but if I could get a just a few weeks of peace and quiet could be very relaxing, please?).

IMG_5575

During those 4 months, I also found my blogging style. I now feel more confident about posting different topic-related posts and not feeling too down when a post I love doesn’t do so well. As long as I am proud of it and worked hard to do my best, I am okay with the response – or lack of response. I now know how I work best to create a content I am happy with, basically running for something to write on whenever I have an idea or a few for a blogpost and then either writing it right away if I am super inspired or waiting for inspiration to kick in, (or the energy to write it). Usually when writing it, I have a few ideas for photos or the main picture so I’ll write that down as well. I know that usually at the weekends, I am too brainly (is that even a word?) tired to write down a post so I’ll write them during the week and then do all of the photo-taking, layout, tags, links, proofreading, scheduling on the weekends. I am happy to have found an organization that works for me, but I admit that I am dreading a bit the start of the Uni year, I don’t know my schedule yet and I’ll have to find a new organization for my blog. I’m afraid that I’ll probably have to go back to one post a week, probably with the odd second one. We’ll see.

If you have made it that far, thank you very much, I’m pretty ramble-y today! I just wanted to say thank you, you that are reading this post, liking and commenting. It honestly makes me so happy to see a like or a comment notification, even if you are just reading, it’s nice to know that someone you don’t know personally as read your work.

 

I hope you have enjoyed this post, and wish you a very happy day!

Xx Gaby

Follow me on social media! 

Instagram  twitter snapchat: gabysmile16 bloglovin 

8 thoughts on “Keeping Up with Gaby … LOLZ

  1. Wow you’ve been busy! Hope the first year of your Master’s went well, I actually thought they were one year programmes. You shouldn’t be so hard on yourself, you’ve done amazing to have completed year one of your masters and found the right one for year two. I’m glad you enjoyed your intern experience, I agree the team you work in can really shape it xx

    Velvet Blush

    Like

    1. Quite a bit yes 😂 it went well thank you! You can do one year of Master’s but you don’t get a year of “specialty” and you are not considered as an executive. Ow thank you so much ☺️ I try not to be but I am a bit of a perfectionist so it can be hard…
      It really does! xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

