A Day in The Life – Park & Museum in Lyon

Hello everyone!

Yesterday my mom, sister, a friend of my mom and one of my sister’s best friends and I went to spend a day in Lyon (France), an hour from where I live. As from last Friday I am finally on holidays and we wanted to have a little adventure and fun. We planned it a couple weeks ago and because of the heat wave decided to do the park in the morning and the museum in the afternoon (helloooo air con!) which was the cleverest choice ever.

We left town at about 9 a.m and between the journey and the adventure of finding a parking spot, we entered the park at around 10:30 a.m. It was a beautiful morning it wasn’t too hot (thank goodness!) when we arrived, about 28°C went it was supposed to be around 32°C thanks to some clouds.

The park is called Le Parc de la Tête d’Or (the Park of the Golden Head) and is quite famous actually, it is 117 hectares (290 acres) and is situated in the 6th arrondissement of Lyon. The park was opened in 1857 and there is a small zoo in the center of the park, along with some sports facilities, flower gardens, greenhouses, botanic garden and a velodrome. A lot of Lyon inhabitants go there to run, have a walk, take the kids to play or visit the zoo, just read in the flower garden on a regular basis as it is a real break from the hustle bustle of the city.  A lot of foreigners also visit this park as it is a very famous feature of the city.

1

32456789101112141315161719202122232425

At about 12-12:30 p.m., we were starting to get quite hungry so we made our way to the car (which took about 30mins I believe) and drove to the Centre Commercial des Confluences (Confluence Mall) to have lunch there. We wanted to get some bagels so we decided to eat at Razowski which was absolutely delicious! My sister, her friend and I had some salmon bagel which came along a coleslaw salad and fries, my mom has fish and chips and her friend had a king prawns salad.

IMG_6617IMG_0202

IMG_0201

At around 2:30 p.m. we made our way to the Musée des Confluences. The prices are quite good as students below 18 don’t pay and students between the age of 18 to 25 only pay 5 euros and the full price is 9 euros.

The first floor have the temporary exhibitions while the second floor host the permanent expositions. I am not going to go into much detail about each of them as I think it wouldn’t be fair to the Museum, but they were really interesting and well presented. We saw one about the Lumière Brothers who invented Cinematography (temporary), one about the world (creation, current issues, etc…), one about poisons and one about the story of the world and humanity to only mention a few.

1234578910111312

After that at 6:30-ish, we got some ice cream and apparently I was so happy for some refreshment that I didn’t even take a photo of it! We finally made our way to the car at about 7p.m. to go home.

It’s so nice to have a one day trip, we were definitely exhausted at the end of the day but that was what I call a well spent day! We walked about 7,5 to 8,5 km I believe (4,66 miles to 5,38 miles) and basically stood/walked for 7 hours so our legs and butts (and feet!) were definitely feeling it and we feel quite sore today which is always a good thing! It was an amazing discovery day and I loved how chilled it all was, there was no pressure we just wanted to all have a great time.

I hope you enjoyed this post and the mountain of photos (sorry…) and I would love to know what day trip you did that you have a great memory of!

 

— HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOOOOM!!! 🎂🎂🎂🎉🎉🎉

xxx Gaby

Follow me on social media! 

Instagram  twitter snapchat: gabysmile16 bloglovin  

4 thoughts on “A Day in The Life – Park & Museum in Lyon

  1. I know that feeling where your legs feel burned out! I go to London sometimes around Christmas, and we do so much walking that a break the next day is definitely needed. I really want to visit France one day soon, and the food does seem super affordable x

    Velvet Blush

    Like

Leave a Reply

